Steve Jobs led the growth of consumer electronics with the Apple II personal computer back in the 80s. Today, Apple products and technology are dominant in many homes and businesses.

The tech world is reeling from the passing of Apple founder, chairman of the board of directors and former CEO (Chief Executive Officer) Steven Paul “Steve” Jobs at age 56. His visionary genius started when, along with friend Steve Wozniak among others, he started the Apple Computer Company in his garage selling personal computers. While his idea took time to catch on, people eventually started purchasing personal computers and Apple II unit sales boomed in the 1980s. However, after losing an internal power struggle within Apple, he left the company in 1985 and found NeXT Computer soon after. He would buy what was to become Pixar Animation Studios from George Lucas’ company LucasFilm in 1986 and in a decade, the studio would gain critical and commercial success with 1995’s Toy Story. Ironically, Apple would buy NeXt Computer in 1996, reuniting Steve Jobs with the company he helped found almost two decades earlier. He would become the CEO for the near decade and a half, spearheading the development and marketing of revolutionary consumer electronic devices such as the iPod, iPhone and iPad. Despite his ongoing battle with pancreatic cancer from 2003, he continued to appear at the company forefront by making public appearances promoting Apple’s latest devices. He eventually stepped down as CEO in August 2011 amid continued health concerns, but remained as the chairman of the board of directors until his passing.

Love him or hate him, there is no denying the impact of Steve Jobs in our digital age and his legacy remains in the countless personal computers and other consumer electronic goods (such as my own beloved iPod Vesper) that have made their way to people since then. Rest in peace and thank you.

The iPod Classic 160 GB is one of my favorite pieces of technology. With almost limitless capacity for media files and the usual Apple flair, it has faithfully served me without question.

Speaking of Steve Jobs, it reminded me of my own 160 GB iPod Classic and how much I have enjoyed this gadget since I got it two years ago. And if you may be wondering, her name was inspired from fictional James Bond character Vesper Lynd (itself a play on the city of West Berlin, Germany) as well as play on Vesper meaning “evening” relating to her lovely matte black finish.

When my sister Francine received an iPod from our mom around 2006, I fell in love with it. It was a fifth generation white iPod Video with a 30 GB capacity. It could store music, videos and photos and make them accessible at a moment’s notice. It was slim and very sleek, and I found the Click Wheel a unique way of accessing and enjoying the media stored within. So much so in fact, that I ended up taking it around more than my sister did.

Soon, I set my sights on the 160 GB iPod Classic in a sweet matte black finish. Not only could it store and play more media files, I could even use it as a spare external hard drive to back up other important items. At the time, it cost a lot so I asked my Mum for this as the greatest gift she could give me.

After many delays, the iPod arrived in April 2009 in a “balikbayan” box and I was madly in love with it. I soon dumped in song after song and even some movies for good measure, and it would travel almost everywhere with me like my cellphone. So when the built-in hard drive crashed earlier this year, I was terribly depressed. Adding insult to injury, the Power Mac service center offered an outrageous price to replace the entire device since there was no way to retrieve the massive amount of media inside.

My luck did turn a few days later when I found a shop at Greenhills offering to replace my iPod hard drive for a much smaller fee. And as luck had it, I copied most of my song library to the external hard drive of one of my bosses a month before, so I only lost a few songs and the few movies I had. I went ahead with my plan and soon, Vesper was back to playing some wonderful music for my ears (as well as those of whom I had shared my music at work).

And while my iPod has shown signs of the battery running down faster than normal, she remains my “wife” as far as being one of the closest things to me. Already, I have raised eyebrows for naming my cellphone Ziva Franchesca (a play on NCIS character Ziva David, a former Israeli intelligence agent) and my cue stick Tara (the name of a goddess in several Asian countries and cultures). While this has raised some concern that I have given up on chances for a romantic relationship altogether, that certainly isn’t the case as I have kept my door to some prospects open. Correction: Make that “a” prospect that I only wish to keep anonymous at this time.

So if there are concerns about Apple being able to stay on top after the passing of Steve Jobs, the lackluster reception to the recently released iPhone 4S may be the beginning of a rocky road moving forward. But whether Apple remains the top dog or slides down to a lower rung on the consumer electronics ladder, the fact is that the late founder and chairman of Apple’s board of directors has left his mark in the world. And if anything, the consumer wins from the competition he helped spark among the many other companies vying for Apple’s coveted spot.

Vesper is proof of that.

