The twin towers of the World Trade Center were set ablaze when terrorists hijacked and flew passenger airplanes into the buildings. Nearly 3,000 people died in the worst terrorist attack on American soil.

Today is the 10th anniversary of perhaps the single most deadly and infamous terrorist attacks in the world. In a well-organized act of terror, Al-Qaeda operatives hijacked four commercial passenger airplanes and destroyed both towers of the World Trade Center in New York City and part of the Pentagon in Arlington, Virginia. The fourth airplane, United Airlines Flight 93, crashed in field outside Shanksville, Pennsylvania after the passengers fought with the hijackers to prevent their plan from being carried out. The final death toll stood at nearly 3,000, with fear and mourning rippling throughout the world.

At the time of the terrorist attack, I was at home after a long day at college. I happened to be channel surfing and I saw the breaking news of a plane that had just crashed into the North Tower of the World Trade Center. I then watched the news wondering how a plane could have crashed into such a visible landmark when I saw a second plane crash into the South Tower during the broadcast.

Then I realized that America was under attack. If the mightiest nation in the world could be attacked so callously by terrorists, what more our country. Our province. Our city. Our house.

Over the next few days, I checked the news for updates on the tragic event and felt my heart sink ever deeper with the rising death toll. It was a surreal time, a time when uncertainty clouded the world and the world mourned for the needless deaths of many. At least for us, tragedy had been averted when an uncle of mine who worked just blocks away from the World Trade Center had managed to be evacuated to safety.

The event proved that terrorism was not just a problem of poor or impoverished nations and their people. It was a problem wherever inequality, prejudice, and racism was present. Anyone could be a victim, regardless of who they were. And all it took was the willingness to regard human life as trivial and not worth protecting.

A decade later, the world has changed dramatically. Many countries have now passed tougher anti-terrorism laws. Greater security measures have been stepped up in public places such as airports and arenas worldwide. Afghanistan and Iraq have been liberated from their dictatorial regimes by a coalition of forces led by American soldiers. And just recently, Al-Qaeda leader Osama Bin Laden was killed in a daring raid in Pakistan by elite US Navy SEALs (Sea, Air and Land Team) after topping the FBI’s Most Wanted List as the mastermind of the dastardly attacks.

But has the world really effected its most important change, the one of a change in men, quoting former politician Richard “Dick” Gordon?

That remains to be seen. What happened ten years ago should be a wake-up call that the greatest deeds of evil perpetrated in the world start from the smallest seeds of inhumanity sown in one’s heart, and that no one is totally safe from this. It is only by recognizing this and taking action to instill the best values in us that we can truly conquer evil in its pure undiluted form and set the stage for good to reign in the world.

It won’t be easy, and America still mourns the loss of her innocent citizens to this day. But it has to start somewhere.

*****

Coincidentally, today happened to be the day our account moved from the relative convenience of Discovery Center in Ortigas Center, Pasig City to the increased distance and isolation of Market! Market! at Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City. With the continued growth of the Zynga account, it was decided that a whole floor could be dedicated to the entire account for ease of management.

However, the move met with disapproval and resistance from many (including myself) as many of those working in the account lived in the northern parts of Metro Manila (Quezon City, Valenzuela, Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas) and as far out as Bulacan province. The increased travel time and corresponding heavy traffic has many of my colleagues reconsidering their continued tenure in the company or seeking residence in nearby areas. Having worked in Market! Market!for the first three years of my current tenure with TELUS, I am aware of the impact of the move and the consequent adjustments I would have to make to get to and from work. Still, I cannot say I look forward to the change in venue and the added distance.

It now has me weighing my options as well. Opportunities for growth within the company have not come often, and my academic and occupational records have not spoken well for me in the few times I have considered vying for the post. And with the realization that I won’t be young forever, I now find myself scrambling for answers.

So while the answers elude me for now, I have to live with returning to where my working career all began. It may not be the freshest start I have, but it will have to do. As I said earlier, I do have to start somewhere.

