In less than 24 hours, I will be back in Manila after spending the last several days in beautiful Davao City.

Amazingly, my flight to the scenic city was the first ever airplane ride I ever took, making for an even more enjoyable experience. I was greeted by the familiar scent of the durian almost everywhere I went, and soaked up the laid back atmosphere of the place without a second thought. In addition, the balmy weather and friendly natives made the experience all the more memorable.

My esteemed colleague Doc Bob, who invited me over to perform my usual emceeing duties for his Sail On… concert series, put on yet another grandiose show, with eight schools showcasing outstanding performances from their homegrown talents while earning considerable praise from the many people who were in attendance. Congratulations once again to him for putting on yet another spectacular show.

That being said, I am not looking forward to my flight back to Manila. And it isn’t just because Davao City has grown on me.

Tropical Storm Ondoy (Ketsana) lashed Metro Manila and much of Luzon with torrential rainfall, causing loss of life and property.

Metro Manila and much of Luzon is suffering from the torrential rainfall of Tropical Storm Ondoy (international name Ketsana), which has already broken the record for dumping more rain in six hours than the regional average rainfall for the entire month of September. I have spent the past day glued to the TV, watching the drama and tragedy unfold right before my very eyes. The region has not suffered flooding at this level of severity and broadness, with provinces as far north as Isabela and as far south as the Mindoro provinces declaring states of calamity.

The only bright spot has been that my immediate kin are doing well. Sadly, I can’t say the same for so many others.

I expect chaos when I return to Manila tomorrow evening. I worry it may be a lot more than I can take.

